The Kim Scott Walwyn Shortlist

Posted on April 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

At the start of the SYP’s second seminar How to Get Ahead in Publishing at the London Book Fair, Ella Kahn 2011 SYP Chair announced the shortlist for this year’s Kim Scott Walwyn Prize. This is the only national prize to recognise both the professional achievements and promise of female publishers. Each shortlisted candidate will receive a one-day training course to aid their career development, courtesy of The Publishing Training Centre.

We are delighted to announce that the 2012 shortlisted candidates are:

Donna Condon – Senior Commissioning Fiction Editor, Piatkus – Little, Brown

Eleanor Crawforth – Editor / Sales and Marketing Manager, Carcanet Press

Bethan Jones – Head of Yellow Jersey Press / Crime Fiction and Senior Publicity Manager, Chatto and Windus, Harvill Secker and Square Peg – Random House

Rukhsana Yasmin – Commissioning Editor, Westbourne Press and Telegram Books – Saqi Books

This year’s judging panel held long discussions and after much debating they were able to whittle down all the submitted candidates to just a shortlist of four very deserving women. Kate Jury, Chair of the Prize Advisory Committee and the judging panel commented:

‘As judges we have been struck by the quality, commitment and diversity of the applicants – they have come from major commercial houses and small niche companies; from marketing, sales, PR, and editorial, often combining several of these roles to develop a breadth of experience which is impressive. Nearly all of the candidates have been exploring new media as ways of reaching read  ers. Choosing a shortlist from amongst such remarkable entrants has been both very hard and a privilege.’


This year’s judging panel are as follows:

(Chair) Kate Jury – Garden and Landscape Designer, Oxford Garden Partners; formerly a Marketing Director, Oxford University Press

Catherine Clarke – Literary Agent and Managing Director, Felicity Bryan Agency

Nicola Crossley – SYP Vice-Chair 2010 and Editorial Assistant, Trade Non Fiction, Orion Books

Denise Johnston-Burt – Publisher, Walker Books

Ella Kahn – SYP Chair 2011 and Assistant Literary Agent, Andrew Nurnberg Associates

Kay Peddle – winner of the 2011 Prize and Editor, The Bodley Head

Francine Stock – novelist and broadcaster

The SYP will be joining Booktrust and The Publishing Training Centre to hear the prize winner announced at The Free Word Centre in London on Wednesday 9 May.

For more information on the shortlisted candidates please visit Booktrust’s website.