Kim Scott Walwyn Prize

The Kim Scott Walwyn has been recognising and rewarding the professional achievements of women in publishing since 2003; this year, for the first time, it will recognise not just achievements but also potential within young professionals.

The prize was originally set up in honour of Kim Scott Walwyn, a Publishing Director at Oxford University Press who was an outstanding editor and inspirational manager. Since its conception it has honoured the work of Annette Thomas (then Managing Director of Nature Publishing Group, now CEO of Macmillan), Lynette Owen OBE (Copyright Director of Pearson Education Ltd), and Kathy Rooney (Managing Director of Bloomsbury Publishing).

The 2011 prize has changed direction slightly and is now open to any woman who has worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years. The winner will be announced at a ceremony at the Free Word Centre on 5th May, where she will receive a £1,000 cheque courtesy of the SYP and a voucher for a one-day training course at the Publishing Training Centre.

For full details of the prize and how to enter or to find out more about the sponsors, please visit